Journal

Sun, Suspend Your Glory

“The sun stopped in the middle of the sky and delayed going down about a full day. There has never been a day like it before or since, a day when the Lord listened to a man.” — Joshua 10: 13

Are you ready for time to spring ahead an hour?

Or are you like me– tired of scattering around like the headless chicken?

I’m a lover of spring and summer, sun and sweat, so each winter (65 degrees is winter to my Louisiana/California skin), I impatiently await April. And May and June. As I bask in the heat of my space heaters at home and at work, I yearn for the rays that deepen the brown in my skin, for the sundresses, the flip flops, the sand. Dear sun: manufactured heat cannot compare.

On this early day in March, though, my desire echoes the cry in the verse above. While the Israelites were in battle with the Amorites, Joshua prayed for the sun to “stand still over Gibeon.”

“So the sun stood still,

and the moon stopped,

till the nation avenged itself on its

enemies.” (v. 13)

My stress is nowhere near as gargantuan or life-threatening as war, but today I wish I could experience such a miracle– it need not be explained. The weather here in Long Beach is perfect today; after a few too-cool days earlier in the week, today’s temperature is hovering around 79 degrees Fahrenheit; the sky is showing out; our little piece of earth– right here, right now– is unusually quiet.

I’m not ready for the time to change just yet, not when I have to work both weekend days.

I. just. want. things. to. slow. way. down.

I want to be outside today, lying down in green pastures, breathing from the wells of my abdomen, renewing my relationship with the sun, and resting my eyes on its cool blue backdrop instead of on my office computer screen.

Don’t go down, sun– not today. Don’t spring forward, time– not yet.

2 thoughts on “Sun, Suspend Your Glory

Leave a Reply

