Your Voice

Situational Headaches

By Andrea Hall 

Pain in my mind.
Pain in my body.
My screams are soundless,
drowned out
by the burning, burning, burning
in my back.
I cry but there are no tears–
only laughter, delirium.
My head is pressurized
in the grinding of my reasoning
I hear the breaking;
I grab my head,
deny the pain.
Problems and issues,
I cannot hold;
still, I reach for them,
my fingers slippery.
In the end, I must give
them away to God,
or the swelling in my head
will splinter in two,
destroying me
from the inside out.
The situation
The situation
The situation of my head
cannot continue to cause
me to ache.
I beg for strength.
I beg for marrow.
I cry for endurance.
The situation of my head
cannot give way
to a lifetime of aches.

Leave a Reply

