Harmony Tea Bar / Journal

Tea Moment

Image

Squirming at my desk, trying to align my scattered interests so that I can be as productive and creative as possible on my major objective of the work day: to finish a draft of a writing workshop slideshow, “Translating the Static Within.”

But my mind races with so much: the little tasks I need to finish, the phone calls and emails to return, the notes to transcribe, the data to collect, the research to dig into, the writing samples to choose, the slides to edit and add. And underneath it all, I keep trying to understand why we the people are never for all the people– you know, those who are not in our little havens of comfort– blood family, economic and educational status, political parties, district lines and so forth.

So, I take a break. Get up. Hit the hot water machine. Make ginger-peach matcha, a sweet and heady tea. Return to my desk, breathing deeper after a few sips.

Clarity spreads its cloak of calm around me.

We woke up to good news– we’re alive, for one, and some folks, at least, seem to want to ensure that more of us can stay alive… a little while longer. We are all like the grasses in the field: here today; gone another. But if my grass is green today, I need to ask myself: How can I spread a little water your way?

No human being is perfect. Not your favorite politician, judge, activist, teacher or minister. Not me (Heavens, no). Not even you (though you are probably further along that road than I). We will always be somewhere along that spectrum of striving to “be mo’ better” on this old earth. (Thank God for grace). Likewise, and by default, no piece of legislation is perfect. How can it be in a system that never was? Obamacare attempts to tilt the long-falling tower of an eroding healthcare system to a place of steadiness and equilibrium. Why fight that?

The quote in the photo above reminds us that, although we are often the creators of confusion, fighting each other and common sense at every turn, in the end, wisdom prevails. Always. We can struggle and scream and curse and worry until we’re sick. A better way might be to remain in a place of peace, of “being,” separating the wheat from the chaff, the seeds from the pod, sipping what is good, what is true, what is wise.

3 thoughts on “Tea Moment

Leave a Reply

